Getting charged with a DWI can have a major impact on your life. In addition to the stress of dealing with court dates and trying to navigate the legal process, potentially losing your license could pose major challenges for you. Under certain circumstances, you may face steep fines or even some amount of jail time as well.
Working with an experienced Fort Worth DWI lawyer could help alleviate many of your worries and concerns. Whether representing you in plea negotiations or preparing you for trial, a Fort Worth defense attorney can make sure you are fully supported each step of the way. You may not know where to go from here, but with legal counsel at your side, you would not have to go through this difficult process alone, and you could know what to expect each step of the way.
The laws on driving while intoxicated are explained in Texas Penal Code §49.04. In Texas, it is unlawful to drive a motor vehicle in a public place while intoxicated. “Intoxicated,” according to
Texas Penal Code §49.01(2), means driving while not having the normal use of mental or physical faculties by reason of drugs or alcohol, or driving with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or higher.
For a first DWI, an individual’s license can be suspended anywhere from 90 days to a year. For a second and third offense, typical license suspension is 180 days to two years. Fort Worth courts also often impose fines for DWIs, which can range from $2,000 to $10,000 depending upon the number of offenses and the facts of the case making it important that a Fort Worth DUI lawyer is contacted as soon as possible.
Most DWI cases are categorized as Class B misdemeanors and require a minimum of three days in jail. However, if an open container is also found in the vehicle, the minimum jail term is six days.
Having a BAC of 0.15 percent or greater while driving is a Class A misdemeanor, which is a more serious crime. The penalties for multiple offenses are also more severe. Getting convicted for a second DWI requires a minimum jail term of 30 days. Penalties can also be more severe if there is a child under 15 years old in the vehicle. DWI with a minor in the car is punishable by between 180 days and two years in jail, as well as a fine of up to $10,000 warranting the attention of a Fort Worth DWI attorney.
Penalties can also be more severe if a drunk driver causes an accident and injured someone. Intoxication assault, injuring a person while driving drunk, is a third-degree felony punishable by a prison sentence of two to ten years and a fine of up to $10,000. If someone is killed during the incident, the driver can be charged with intoxication manslaughter, a second-degree felony punishable by imprisonment from two to 20 years on top of a maximum $10,000 fine.
It is important to understand how the specific facts of your case may affect its outcome, whether in a positive or negative way. There are many factors to consider, so it may be overwhelming to try to fight your case alone.
An experienced Fort Worth DWI lawyer could guide you through this process by conducting a full assessment of your case and reviewing all the evidence the state plans to present. If necessary, they could even conduct a full investigation and gather independent evidence and witnesses. Call today to schedule a consultation and get started on your case.
The Medlin Law Firm is dedicated to our community. To that end, we are excited to announce that we are sponsoring the 10th annual Honored Hero Run at Trinity Park on October 21st. The run is a yearly event to support the effort to find a cure for blood cancers like leukemia and lymphoma in our community and around the world. To learn more about how you can help make a difference in the lives of people battling blood cancers and find out more details about the run click here.
The attorneys at the Medlin Law Firm are pleased to invest in the education of others with the TSA Security Reform Scholarship. Please submit an essay about why you feel TSA security either needs to become more strict or less. The deadline for submission is April 30, 2019. For more details on how to apply, click here.